Medical education -  Constitution of Committee to process the applications for grant of permissions for starting Nursing  Colleges, Nursing Schools Multipurpose Health Workers (Female) training Centres, Para medical Training Centres and Physio-Therapy Training  Centres ? orders ? Issued.




G.O.Ms.No. 318                                                                                Dated: 29-9-2000

                                                                                                         Read the following:-


1.       G.O.Ms.No.267, HM&FW(E1) Deptt., Dt. 14-7-1997.

2.       G.O.Ms.No.598, HM&FW(M2) Deptt.  Dt. 18-12-1998.





                           In the G.O. read above, a Committee under the Chairmanship of Justice Sri P. Ramachandra Raju, Retired Judge, High Court of Andhra Pradesh has been constituted with the members indicated therein to undertake the following  exercise  in respect of establishment of (1) Nursing Schools and   Colleges (2) Multi Purpose Health Workers (Female0 Training Centres; (3) Physiotherapy Training Centres:  (4) Para-Medical  Training Centres and (5) Respiratory Therapy Institutions:-


1.       To scrutinize the existing/proposed policies of the Government in regard to the above institutions and suggest necessary changes as may be expedient.

2.       The Committee will examine the number of institutions of each category existing in each district and  make an assessment of the requirement of additional institutions keeping in mind the question of maintaining regional balance.  The Committee will then proceed to publish an  advertisement in important national and local news papers calling for applications from interested parties and specify in the advertisement the number of institutions which would be located in each district.

3.       They shall  also call for applications from interested parties through advertisements published in local and national news papers.  They shall also consider the applications pending with the Department along with those   received through open advertisement.

4.       The Committee shall make it clear in the advertisement that those parties who had already applied should also apply again, if they are interested.

5.       The Committee may also consult the  guide-lines being followed by Technical Education Department in regard to granting permissions to engineering Colleges, Industrial Training Institutes, etc.

6.       The Committee shall scrutinize the applications with reference to the policy guidelines and furnish the list  of applications recommended for according permission.


2.                  The above Committee issued Notification in local news papers and on receipt of applications in response to the notification for establishment of Para-medical Institutions in Private Sector from interested parties scrutinized  the same and  made recommendations for starting of certain Para-Medical Institutions.  However, the number of Para-Medical Institutions  to be established as recommended by the above Committee is far less than the actual number of various Para-Medical  Institutions  Sanctioned to each District in the State.  The above Committee was wound  up  with effect from 30-6-1999.


3.                  In view of the need to  train large number of Para-medical Staff for which a number of Para Medical Institutions are to be established in Private Sector, Government hereby constitute another Committee with Members as indicated below to process  the applications received from interested parties for  establishment of the above categories of remaining number of  institutions and submit recommendations to the Government  from time to time for taking  a final  decision:-





Contd. 2

:: 2 ::


      1.            Justice Sri P. Ramachandra Raju                                Chairman
Retired  Judge, High Court of A.P.


      2.            Vice-Chancellor, University                                       Member
of Health Sciences, Vijayawara


      3.            Project Director, A.P. First Referral                           Member
Health Systems Project


      4.            Director of Medical Education, A.P., Hyd.                  Member


      5.            Director of Health, A.P., Hyderabad                           Member


      6.            Commissioner, AP Vaidya Vidhana                             Member
Parishad, A.P., Hyderabad.


      7.            Dr. Manimala  Rao, Dean of Medical                          Member
 Faculty, Nizam?s  Institute of Medical
Sciences, Hyderabad.


      8.            Dr. Saidulu Reddy, Prifessor of                                 Member
Orthopaedics, Osmania Medical College,


      9.            Dr. Ch. Surya Prakasha Rao Prof. of                          Member
Cardio-Thoracic surgery , OMC, Hyd.


      10.           Dr. K. Balakoteswara  Rao, Prof.  of Radio                 Member
Diagnostics,  AMC, Visakhapatnam.



4.         The Government  in Health, Medical and Family Welfare Department shall immediately refer the applications which are pending with them to the Committee for taking further necessary action in the matter.  The Committee will consider the applications  referred to them by the Government and also  invite applications from interested parties through open advertisement published in national and local news papers as already indicated in point  (3)  of para 1 above.  The  Committee will take necessary action immediately in this  regard.


5.         The Committee is appointed initially for a period of six months from the data of issue of this order.  The Chairman of the Committee will be entitled to perquisites, privileges, etc.  as are applicable to a serving  Judge  of  the High Court of Andhra Pradesh.  The  payment of T.A. and D.A.  etc.  to the  non-official members shall be regulated as prescribed under rule-13, Annexure-VI, under rule-91 of A.P.C.S.(T.A) Rules.


6.         The Commissioner, A.P. Vaidya Vidhana Parishad will provide all necessary secretarial assistance to the  Committee.  The Commissioner, APVVP shall also meet the  expenses towards  the functioning of the Committee including payment of salaries T.A., D.A., sitting fees,  etc.  from the  appropriate Head of Account.





                                                                                   C. ARJUNA RAO

                                                     SPECIAL  CHIEF  PRINCIPAL SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT



All Members of the Committee

The Commissioner, AP Vaidya Vidhana  Parishad, A.P. Hyd.


Copy to:

Finance and Planning (Fin) Department.

Law Department

P.S. to M (HM&FW)

D.S to C.M

P.S. to  Prl. Secretary (HM&FW)

The Sections concerned  in HM&FW Dept.


                     // Forwarded :: By Order //

                                                                                                            Section Officer